Taber Municipal Police Commission Bylaw

Taber Municipal Police Commission Policy Manual Revised August 2023

Council of the Town of Taber deem it proper and expedient to control the operations of the Taber Police Service through the Municipal Police Commission.

The Police Commission is an independent organization established by Council pursuant to Section 28(1) of the Police Act.

Council, in the Police Commission Bylaws, has

  • Prescribed the rules governing the operations of the commission; and
  • Allowed for the appointment of members to the Commission.

Mission Statement

To work in partnership with the citizens to ensure transparent, effective, and responsive policing throughout the municipality.

Vision Statement

To be a leader for municipal stakeholders in the civilian oversight of policing.


  • Respect: We respect our people and the community we serve.
  • Accountability: We are accountable to each other and those we serve.
  • Honesty: We are forthright, direct and honest with our community and ourselves.
  • Integrity: We conduct ourselves in an ethical manner; maintaining confidentiality, trust and objectivity.

Meetings for this Commission are held in the Council Chambers in the Administration Building, located at A-4900 50 St. Taber, AB. The Commission shall hold no less than four (4) regular meetings each year; meetings are held the 3rd Wednesday of the month, except July, August and December.


John A. MacDonald

Commission Chair

John was born in 1953 in Edmonton Alberta, graduated from high school, Power Engineering at SAIT, and Project Management at Red Deer College. John also holds wastewater certifications which include a valid Level 4 Alberta Environment Certification along with a valid EPA Level 4 from the state of Hawaii. He has worked at Lamb Weston as a Waste Water Supervisor for the last 20 years and has 47 years in the industry. John is married to Tracy and they have three children, four grandchildren, and a fur-baby “Sushi”. John has an extensive background serving on boards as a member and as Chair (AWWOA, Hockey Alberta, Kiwanis, Knox United Church). John has served the last 6 years on the Taber Municipal Police Commission with the last year as Chair. He also has experience as an advocate with Red Deer Victim Services. John has also been active in youth sports over the years as a coach for his children in baseball, soccer, and hockey.

Wendi Chisholm

Commission Vice-Chair

Wendi Chisholm was born in Port Colborne, Ontario and moved to Taber in the spring of 2008 as a single parent with her son Kyle. She is the Branch Manager for ATB Financial in Taber. Wendi started her career in banking in 2009. In Ontario Wendi worked as a CNC set-up operator for Elcan. She graduated from Georgian College in 1994 with Honors with a Computer Programming Diploma. Wendi has shared; Taber has been a Great Community to raise my son. I’m grateful for the opportunity to serve our community as a Member of the Taber Police Commission.

Carly Firth

Councillor - Town of Taber

Carly Firth is a Councillor for the Town of Taber and has served as a council representative to the Taber Municipal Police Commission since 2021. Carly brings experience in media, management, and education to the Commission. With a desire to promote our vibrant community and a commitment to community policing, Carly looks forward to continuing to work collaboratively with organizations in and around Taber. Carly currently serves on a number of boards in her role as a Councillor and a few others in a volunteer capacity. In her free time, Carly enjoys hiking and camping with her family, travel, and reading anything that doesn’t involve a meeting agenda.

Joanne Sorensen

Councillor - Town of Taber

Joanne Sorensen is the Office Manager and HSE Coordinator in their family run business of Ar-Tech Coating. Joanne lives in Taber with her husband Martin and have two, soon to be married, daughters. Both Joanne and Martin grew up in Taber and after attending secondary education in Edmonton, they moved back to Taber to work and raise their family. Joanne is a Councilor for the Town of Taber, a member of the Taber Chamber executive since 2016 and currently is Past President. She also sits on several boards and committees including the Taber Police Commission, Taber Recreation Board, JEDC, and Art & Heritage Committee.

Ferris Zaugg


Ferris Zaugg was raised in Stirling, AB. After graduating High School in 1972, he attended the University of Lethbridge for a year. That year was highlighted by playing on the men's basketball team. In 1973 he was called to serve a 2 year Mission in the North Carolina-Virginia Mission for the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints. Upon completing his Mission, Ferris thought about returning to university to get his teaching degree. However, he changed his mind and joined the RCMP in 1976. His first Detachment was Spirit River, AB. While there he completed his Recruit Field Training and started coaching High School Basketball. Ferris also enjoyed teaching many workshops and preventative programs such as: Home Security, Lady Beware, and teaching DARE in schools. Ferris retired after 33 years with the RCMP. He then worked for friends in selling corn and other crop harvesting operations for many years. Now he volunteers to teach how to drive to many; especially those new to Canada. Ferris also continues to serve and work in his Church. Over the years he has served within various organizations in the church but primarily with the Young Men in their programs. Ferris is married to Terry and their children are scattered into BC, Utah, and Kansas. Ferris enjoys living in Taber and feels it's important to be involved in the community, Ferris has volunteered to serve on Taber's Police Commission.

Barry Clements


Barry Clements is a lifelong resident of the Taber/Barnwell area and has been actively farming and growing sugar beets for the past 50 years. Barry graduated from WR Myers High School and completed two years of University. Barry holds a Heavy Duty Mechanics license, and a Commercial Pilot’s license with Multi Engine, Instrument, and Flight Instructor ratings. Barry has been actively involved in the local farming and business community having also owned and operated several businesses in Taber and area. Barry has also been involved in volunteering in many community and church groups and has served on the Taber Airport Commission for the past 10 years. Barry is married to Brenda, and has 5 children and numerous grandchildren. Barry is a strong advocate for Taber Police Services and is committed to helping make it a valued and respected part of our community.

Joe Strojwas


Joe Strojwas was born in southern Saskatchewan in the mid-fifties, and moved to Lethbridge in 1971. He completed his Red Seal Cook Apprenticeship Certification with Sven Ericksen’s Family Restaurant thru Southern Alberta Institute of Technology. Joe worked in management with Sven Ericksen’s until he moved to Taber in 1992, where he owned and operated Luigi's Pizza & Steak House. Joe has been involved in several successful businesses over the years, recently retiring from Taber Cold Beer & Liquor Store. Joe is married and has 4 children. Joe is a former Town of Taber Councilor, member of the Knights of Columbus and currently serving on the Taber Police Commission, Taber Public Library Board, Taber & District Housing Foundation, Taber Charity Auction Committee, Taber Public Golf Course Board and the Alberta/Japan Twinned Municipalities Association. Joe was a founding member of the Southern Alberta Academy of Chefs in Lethbridge. He loves to travel and spends spare time reading and golfing. Joe believes Taber is a great place to Grow, Live and Retire in.