Go To Search
Click to Home

Fire Extinguishers
Types of Fires a Fire Extinguisher is Capable of Fighting
The A, B and C indicate the type of fire that the fire extinguisher is capable of fighting:
  • Class A fires are fires involving ordinary combustibles (i.e. wood, paper, plastic or cloth).
  • Class B fires are fires involving flammable or combustible liquids.
  • Class C fires are fires involving energized electrical equipment.

The number in front of the fire class refers to the size of fire, in square or cubic feet that the extinguisher should extinguish. For example a 1-A extinguisher should extinguish a one-cubic-foot Class A fire, and a 1-B extinguisher should extinguish a one-square-foot Class B fire. Class C fire extinguishers are not assigned a rating. 

Type of Fire Extinguisher for Your Home
The National Fire Protection Agency (NFPA) recommends a minimum of one extinguisher per floor with a rating of 2-A:10-B:C or higher.

Caring for Your Fire Extinguisher
Fire extinguishers should be inspected each month and maintained in accordance with the owner’s manual that came with the fire extinguisher.